A message for colored women living in America. Reflection from last week.

As I ride on the bus for the 3rd time today, on my way back to work, I see young girls getting on and off the bus. One young girl gets on the bus, probably no older that 11 years old. She's a beautiful dark African girl with skin the color of midnight and as smooth as dark chocolate. As I admire her beauty, I can't help but notice the Puerto-Rican girl she passes by to sit down, probably no older than 17. Equally beautiful with golden caramel skin, I am taken aback by the stark differences in their face. The young African girl, still at the age of not having a care in the world, unaware of the racism and prejudices that await her, she smiles so brightly! But the Puerto-Rican girl, being only a few years older, but now realizing what life has to offer or rather has failed to offer her, frowns so deeply!

What looks like a frown to an outsider has probably just become her regular face, a reflection of daily pains and struggles. But the young African girl has so much in store for her. What may not happened, but more often than not does happen, come the next year or so, she will be questioned about her dark skin. She will be shunned because of her dark skin. She will begin to question herself and her family about her dark skin. And in some way, she will begin to internalize the hate from others and grow to hate her dark skin. Now it's possible that her family instills in her the belief that she is indeed beautiful and if strong enough to handle the ridicule will herself believe it. 

But if not, her smile will too become a frown. 

Hoping that my ray of light that day could possibly help her not to lose her smile, I turn around and tell her that she is so beautiful and I love her skin. She smiles so big and says "thank you", then continues on with conversation. So I wonder how many of us, if we daily had someone tell us that we are beautiful would never lose our smiles? How many of us, if only we could tell ourselves that we are beautiful and that be enough could carry on throughout life smiling instead of frowning?

I don't know those numbers but I do know that women are beautiful creations, regardless of the color of our skin. But ignorance, fear, and prejudice has led us to believe different. For women, colored or white, I beg you to look yourself in the mirror once a day and say that you are beautiful. Don't wait for anyone to tell you, tell yourself, even if you don't believe it. 

Some things become truth when we tell ourselves them enough. Let your beauty become truth for you. Love you. And never, never lose your smile from the outside to the inside! 

Much love :)

1/24/2012 11:21:22 pm

good post

Reply
3/22/2012 01:31:17 am

Thank you for details

Reply
3/22/2012 08:16:25 am

nice post

Reply
3/31/2012 12:24:53 pm

Nice post bro

Reply
Shanice
7/16/2012 04:11:01 pm

I've just read this post and it brought me to tears and I don't cry often, I was deeply touched by your words and do feel for the young girl because I am dark skin myself and i've had some rough days, but at the end of the day I had to accept that god made me beautiful.

Reply
Brittini
7/17/2012 03:56:15 am

Thank you Shanice for the comment. I am glad that this writing touched you. As dark skinned women, we are some of the most beautiful beings God created, although western society tries to tell us otherwise. I am proud to know that you too see that beauty within :) Take Care

Reply
9/3/2012 02:17:23 pm

Nice info dude

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.