Many people my age wake up the morning of New Year’s hung-over from the celebration of a new year. Hangovers from alcohol, and other foreign substances in their systems. But this year, I woke up a little differently than my fellow young adults in their 20’s and I woke up differently than I had done years before. This year, 2012, I woke up hung-over with greatness!

2011 was a year filled with greatness for me. From speakers like Rapper, Actor, and Author Common and Jean Driscoll: Professional Athlete -Paralympic & Olympic Medalist, Eight-time Boston Marathon Winner & World Record Holder talking about finding greatness within and living your life’s purpose, to sermons and Bible studies about following God’s plans, the power that he invests within each of us and “Fire works”. To taking a leap of faith and moving to Buffalo, New York and from taking a leap that left me walking with a cane for graduation, but not stopping the joyous feeling of that accomplishment. From mentors in college who constantly invested in me, day in and day out, to mentors here in Buffalo who constantly remind me that my destiny is to be a black woman of power and never lose sight of it.

You see, I woke up in 2012, drunk, high, and still alive! I woke up intoxicated with all that had been poured into me in 2011 from my Pastor, to my colleagues and cohorts, friends and family. Not all can say that they have people who believe in them and invest in them and are willing to be there when they are at their best and at their lowest. But I can. Not all can say that they serve a God who constantly reminds them that they were created for a purpose. Not all can say that they have the drive and determination to achieve no matter what obstacles are placed in front of them.

Luckily for me, I am not most people. Luckily for you, if you are reading this post right now, then most likely, you have impacted my life in one way or another that has inspired me to write this. But I know it’s not luck that has brought me this far but blessings; Blessings and God’s plan for my life that has led me from one great person to the next, each leaving behind with me a bit of their greatness. So much is left over, that in 2012 I’m hung-over with greatness and the time has come for me too, to be great!

If you are not planning to be great in 2012, then what are you really doing with your life??? It’s an honest question that requires an honest answer from you to yourself.

2012 #HungoverWithGreatness!!!

Peace and Love,

Kujichagulia (Self-Determination)

Lennice
1/10/2012 11:41:04 am

Wow...where do you start or what do u say....you are a remarkable young lady transforming woman if God. You blessed me just how I might have blessed you:*) I remember going to the bbstudies and being blown away w how you guys being the age you were and in college as organized and goal drive en as u were. It inspired me in such a way. And lunge you say urs never to late for greatness and answer yourself ..are u bring purposeful and GREAT! I defiantly I had been pondering that question last year and God was preparing for e to respond. This year I am purpose Fully and Great :*))I love you Bruised and enjoyed the blog. Stay true to yourself Hod and your values. Always abound in every thing you do as I know u will;) and stay Greater!***

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.