A decision made often by absence of a choice or lack of an alternative by definition, we all have a default.  What's yours?

My default is simple, becoming very internal, isolated, in solitude often. It is not always a bad place to be, for in that alone time, I find myself able to think clearly about what I want in life, not what others want for me or even for themselves. However, staying in default often leads me to selfish behaviors and inconsiderate actions. 

Default for me has meant more. It has often meant running away from my stresses, as if they simply do not exist, as if when I decide to come back to reality, they wont be there. It has often meant growing distant from God rather than closer to him.

I am in a stage of life, where that default can no longer work. I believe that our defaults are a starting block, a way to begin, redo. But in order to have a fresh start, default has to be a place of integration, of growth. I now seek for my default to be God. Where when I no longer can see clearly or think clearly to make sound decisions, I turn to God. I look for God to guide me and be my compass; 

for the Bible in the 37th Psalm tells us that 
                       "the steps of a good man are ordered by the Lord"  
and Proverbs 3:6 says that 
                        "in all thy ways acknowledge him,
                                and he shall direct thy paths" 
and again in Proverbs 16:9 the Word says 
                      "In their hearts humans plan their course,                                  
                                 but the Lord establishes their steps."

It is now, that I submit my will to the Lord's and allow for Him to not only be my default, but my all. Have you named your default?











Leave a Reply.