As I drove down W. Florissant two days after the decision, I cried.
I cried because I saw, not the burned down buildings,
But the pain of my people that those buildings reflected.
The same pain that filled my heart when I heard the decision
Even though I knew what it would be
I cried, maybe because God was crying

And I knew people were joined with me in crying
Crying through the rain of indifference
Crying because of the dehumanizing of people through mis-education, lack of healthcare
Crying because we have the number 1 prison rate, a cycle of school to prison pipeline
Crying when God sees his people in pain because they don’t know what to do with the situation

And we asked what is God not crying about
God cries when the youth cry out
God cries when people are robbed of dignity

Crying because of the militarization of police and the brutalization of us
Heartbreaking how people react to the devaluation of us
Crying because even as we die, we are denied first aid
Crying when our youth are killed for no reason
Crying out of frustration because we can't simply love one another

God is crying and crying throughout
Maybe because when God is crying we are not crying, when god is upset we are not upset--- but surely us in this room are crying, sharing in God's pain
Crying as immigrant families are separated by the millions
Crying because people are in poverty
Crying because in the time of peace, we did not prepare for war- we turned our heads and let the ball drop

Yes God continues to cry because of our lack of unity
God cries because the cycle repeats and justice is never served
God cries when we are judged on how we look. 
If we are made in god's image, how are we seeing each other differently?

So we ask:
What value do we put to human life
How do we politicize death of a human being
Why do people we love get dehumanized

For this I have no resolve
So I let my tears do the resolving
I cry, We Cry, God Cries

Edward
2/20/2015 03:46:29 am

I read this about once a week-thank you. Blessings, Ed.

Reply
Edward Huff
2/20/2015 03:47:44 am

I read this about once a week. Thanks. Blessings, Ed.

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.